Life of the 21 Year Old Divorcee.

Hello world! Long time, no see. You’re probably wondering why this post is titled the way it is…

I’m (almost) divorced now! Shocker, right?

Contrary to the popular belief that you’re supposed to hate your ex-spouse, I don’t hate mine. I have a million reasons to hate him, but I’m better than hatred. This divorce was for the absolute best, and I wish him all the luck in the world.

We became two different people. College has worked wonders for me. I have tons of friends, good grades, and goals. Unfortunately, keeping my marriage just wasn’t in the cards.

That’s not to say I didn’t try to make it work—because I did. A lot. But, as the saying goes, you can lead a horse to water but you can’t make him drink it.

Am I upset? I would be lying if I said yes. I stopped being upset around 2 weeks after he left. I woke up one morning, looked at myself in the mirror, and was appalled at what was staring back at me: a frail, gaunt, 10+ pounds lighter self. All for what? A boy that didn’t love me anymore?

Ever since then, I have thrown all of my energy into my friends, my family, college, work, and my extracurricular activities. I’m actually considering pledging into a sorority next semester, so that’s pretty exciting.

I don’t feel like I’m being controlled anymore. The burden has been lifted from my shoulders, and I have never been so happy before in my life. One of my professors told me the other day that divorce looked good on me. Indeed, it does.

My ex-husband is a good person with a big heart. This marriage was a rushed thing on both parts, and even though he pretty much hates me now, I hope that, with maturity, he can look at me the same way I look at him.

As you can guess, this will be my last post on this blog. You’ve all seen me at my best times, and at my worst, and I can never thank you enough. You all were (at times) the only people I felt had my back. So again, thank you. I hope that our paths will cross again, but until then, live YOUR life and BE HAPPY!!

XOXOXO—-Emily

Leave a Reply

