My Husband, My Hero.

I want to just take a minute and recognize someone in my life who I can truly say is my best friend. He’s my saving grace, the sparkle in my eye. I never imagined that I would find someone like him, and although I try to tell him every day how much he means to me, I feel like that’s never enough.

My husband is an amazing creature. Secretly, I think he’s Superman.. who knows? He respects me on so many levels, and I know that no matter what life throws our way, we’re going to be okay. That’s when you know that you’ve met your soulmate. He always puts me before him, no matter how many times I try to make him do otherwise. He doesn’t expect me to cook dinner every night, or to do all of the household chores alone. He helps me with everything.

We both work jobs & go to school, so we try to split the chores in half between us. It helps out in the long run so much, and not many guys would be willing to do this. A real man has no problem with it, but real men are so hard to find these days… Or at least that’s how it seems.

I’m a lucky young woman, I know this. Trust me when I say that I’ve been through Hell and back to get where I am today. Eric is the first guy that I’ve ever been with that treated me like a human being. The rest? They treated me like I was their property. [I didn’t date any of them longer than a month.] By the time I met Eric, I was independent. I worked a job, paid my own bills, my own car, everything. When I met him, I didn’t NEED a man. It just…kind of happened. It was the best thing that ever happened to me.

He was the first guy to take me out on real dates, open the doors for me, and treat me like a gentleman would. He was the first guy that dipped me & kissed me in the rain when he found out I had never been kissed in the rain. (Cliche, I know. Lol.) When he found out that I never got to go to prom, he made a “homemade” prom, just for me. I put on the prom dress I had from 3 years prior (I got dumped 2 weeks before my prom. I didn’t want to go alone, so I just didn’t go), he wore a suit & tie, and we danced the night away. It was absolutely amazing, and when I saw that his basement had been turned into every girl’s romantic dream, I bawled.

Falling in love with him was, by far, the easiest thing I’ve ever had to do. It just came naturally. I waited for a few days before I told him, because I wanted to be sure of myself. I wanted to be sure that I wasn’t walking into a heartache. I remember it like it was yesterday. Let me take you down memory lane for a minute:

The day that I knew that I wanted to tell Eric those 3 big words, I invited him to come over to my place. I was off from work that day, so I made sure to tidy everything up & make it look just right. When he pulled into the driveway, I met him at the door. He looked exceptionally good that day (as always) & my nerves set in. After we hung out for a while, I asked him for a favor. I asked him to dance with me. I turned on “Wonderful Tonight” by Eric Clapton (an old-time favorite of mine) and we danced. Softly. Gently. The way he held me gave me the green light to tell him how I felt. So I did. The expression on his face when I said ‘I love you’ scared me. It was blank. My brain was telling me “Abort! Abort!” and my heart broke into a million little pieces. I just knew he was going to run away. Without thinking, I bursted into tears. He jumped up and ran over to me. “You don’t feel the same do you? It’s okay, just tell me.” I repeated over & over again. He looked me straight in the eyes and said, “Baby, don’t cry. I do feel the same way. I love you too.”Β 

And here we are. Happily married, happily in sync with one another, happily in love. There’s nothing I wouldn’t do for him, and if need be, I’d take a bullet for him without hesitation. To be able to say you’re married to your best friend is a blessing. We learn something new about each other everyday, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

XOXO—Emily

Leave a Reply

